1	HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES - FLOOR VERSION
2	STATE OF OKLAHOMA
3	1st Session of the 59th Legislature (2023)
4	COMMITTEE SUBSTITUTE
5	FOR HOUSE BILL NO. 2820 By: Kendrix of the House
6	and
7	Bergstrom of the Senate
8	
9	COMMITTEE SUBSTITUTE
LO	An Act relating to sunset; amending 70 O.S. 2021,
1	Section 23-105, which relates to the Oklahoma Educational Television Authority; re-creating the
12	authority; and modifying termination date.
13	
L 4	BE IT ENACTED BY THE PEOPLE OF THE STATE OF OKLAHOMA:
L5	SECTION 1. AMENDATORY 70 O.S. 2021, Section 23-105, is
L 6	amended to read as follows:
L7	Section 23-105. There is hereby re-created, to continue until
L8	July 1, <del>2023</del> <u>2026</u> , in accordance with the provisions of the Oklahoma
L 9	Sunset Law, Section 3901 et seq. of Title 74 of the Oklahoma
20	Statutes, a body corporate and politic to be known as the "Oklahoma
21	Educational Television Authority", and by that name the Authority
22	may sue and be sued, and plead and be impleaded. The Authority is
23	hereby constituted an instrumentality of the state, and the exercise
24	by the Authority of the powers conferred by this article for the

planning, construction, operation, and maintenance of educational television facilities shall be deemed and held to be an essential function of the state.

The Oklahoma Educational Television Authority shall consist of thirteen (13) members, including the President of the University of Oklahoma, the President of Oklahoma State University, the State Superintendent of Public Instruction, the Chancellor of the Oklahoma State Regents for Higher Education, the president of one of the state-supported four-year colleges to be chosen by the presidents of this group of institutions, the president of one of the state-supported two-year colleges to be chosen by the presidents of this group of institutions, and seven additional members to be appointed by the Governor with the advice and consent of the Senate, to serve seven-year terms.

The appointed members shall have been residents of the state for at least five (5) years preceding the date of their appointment. The appointed members shall include one member from each of the congressional districts and any remaining members shall be appointed from the state at large. However, when congressional districts are redrawn each member appointed prior to July 1 of the year in which such modification becomes effective shall complete the current term of office and appointments made after July 1 of the year in which such modification becomes effective shall be based on the redrawn districts. Appointments made after July 1 of the year in which such

modification becomes effective shall be from any redrawn districts which are not represented by a board an authority member until such time as each of the modified congressional districts are represented by a board an authority member. A majority of the appointed members shall be actively engaged in the profession of education. Each appointed member of the Authority, before entering upon the duties of the member, shall take the oath provided for by Section 1 of Article XV of the Constitution of the State of Oklahoma.

The seven original members appointed by the Governor shall continue in office for terms expiring on June 30, 1954; June 30, 1955; June 30, 1956; June 30, 1957; June 30, 1958; June 30, 1959; and June 30, 1960, respectively. The terms of each of the original appointed members shall be designated by the Governor, and said members shall serve for their appointed terms and until their respective successors shall be appointed and qualified. The successor of each appointed member shall be appointed for a term of seven (7) years, except that any person appointed to fill a vacancy shall be appointed to serve only for the unexpired term in said vacancy.

The Authority shall elect from the membership of the Authority a chairman chair, a vice-chairman vice-chair, and a secretary-treasurer. Any such officers elected by the Authority on or after July 1, 1984, shall be appointed to serve a term of one (1) year. Seven members of the Authority shall constitute a quorum, and the

1	vote of seven members shall be necessary for any action taken by the
2	Authority. No vacancy in the membership of the Authority shall
3	impair the right of a quorum to exercise all the rights and perform
4	all the duties of the Authority. The Authority shall meet at least
5	quarterly.
6	The members of the Authority shall not be entitled to
7	compensation for their services, but each member shall be reimbursed
8	for travel expenses incurred in performing official duties in
9	accordance with the provisions of the State Travel Reimbursement
10	Act. No liability or obligation shall be incurred by the Authority
11	beyond the extent to which monies shall have been provided pursuant
12	to the authority of this article.
13	
14	COMMITTEE REPORT BY: COMMITTEE ON ADMINISTRATIVE RULES, dated 02/16/2023 - DO PASS, As Amended and Coauthored.
15	02/10/2023 Bo Thoo, no michaed and coadenoted.
16	
17	
18	
19	
20	
21	
22	
23	
24	